jump to navigation

Fallout – Part II: Now We’re Gonna Party Like It’s 2161 October 29, 2010

Posted by emeraldsuzaku in Blog-along, Video Games.
Tags: ,
trackback

I restarted with a new character—Samson Webb. His SPECIAL pool looks like 4-7-6-4-7-8-4. I picked the One Hander and Skilled bonuses, and tagged Small Guns, Energy Weapons, and Repair. I have no idea why I didn’t grab Speech. That was retarded. I may restart yet again to fix that….

This time I went straight to Shady Sands, and didn’t run into any random encounters. Chatted up Katrina and Seth again. Didn’t catch the thing about the raiders to the southeast, and the broken elevator in Vault 15 before. Good to know. Also got VATS working. Which is awesome.

I nabbed a Survival manual from a bookcase in the house just west of the town entrance. I knows wilderness survival! Woohoo! I also ran into Razlo and his wife, who appear to offer healing. But only during the daytime. They just want to rest on their feet at night. Weirdos.

Seeing as how Shady Sands has its own irrigation, maybe I should just pack everyone up and move them here instead of trekking across all creation looking for a water chip. Sure, the brahmin apparently stink, but meh. I’m sure the Vaulters aren’t exactly spring-fresh either. Especially without fresh water.

I had a conversation with Ian, and he filled me in more about the rad scorpions and the bandit groups that periodically raid the place. He was also kind enough to provide directions to the Hub and Junktown. Though, he wasn’t nice enough to join me without me having to cough up $100. I knew I should have taken speech.

Aradesh’s cook gave me some tasty eats, so I decided to help the bossman with his rad scorpion problem. I’m thinking the food was probably laced with something, since I didn’t even ask for a reward. Razlo wants some of their venom, though, so I might be able to get something useful out of him. I’d really like to pick up Ian if I’m going to be tangling with rad scorpions, but the stingy bastard wants cash I don’t have. Schmuck. That’s right up there with the outhouse I can’t use.

I ended up going after the rad scorpions alone. And promptly about crapped my jumpsuit when one wandered out from the cover of a wall to have at me. Turns out they can double attack, and it hurts. Poison doesn’t help, either. Luckily a few well-placed shots to its brain took care of it well enough for me to grab its tail and run. Sadly, it managed to make me blow a stimpack, and also poison me before I could take it down. Radscorpions: the gift that keeps on giving. Sidenote: missing multiple times on an 87% hit chance is silly.

I beat feet the hell out of the caves and went back to see Razlo. I gave him the tail, and he formulated an antidote. He wouldn’t cure my poison when asked, so he probably wanted me to use the thing he made. Which I didn’t want to do. He was also overcharging (in my opinon) for healing, so I spent a bit resting up to full health and wellness.

And that’s where we left it. There will be no mention of the time I accidentally bartered my spare knife away for free….

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment