jump to navigation

Costume Quest – Part II: ROBOT PUMPKIN VAMPIRE FORCE, GO! October 28, 2010

Posted by emeraldsuzaku in Blog-along, Video Games.
Tags: ,
trackback

As I suspected, I finished up Costume Quest rather quickly last night. It took me 6 hours or a little less all told. The only thing of note after the Ferris wheel, other than the last hiding kid and vampire costume piece, was the corn maze. And that wasn’t difficult at all.  After a couple of costume shifts to get the “use every battle ability” trophy, I settled on the final grouping of Robot, Pumpkin, and Vampire. All three have some rather powerful hit-all attacks, and the Vampire also has healing. I gave that costume to Lucy along with the 2-Ply TP so that it was at the end of my battle order.

This combination of costumes was incredibly devastating against both normal encounters and Dorsilla. The normal enemy encounters couldn’t last three turns—once the hit-all attacks came out it was game over for them. It also made the Dorsilla battle fairly simple for much the same reason; she periodically summons two image/clones of herself to fight alongside her, and the big attacks are nice for getting rid of them quickly. And TP knocks her out of her charge up. I don’t have any idea what she was charging up, as I never let her get it off, but it was probably nasty.

Big Bones, on the other hand, could probably have used a different setup. I definitely could have used some of the HP regen stamps instead of the attack stamps I had equipped. And, while the heal-all of the vampire was nice, the Unicorn’s full-heal plus resurrect would also have been nice. Or I could have used the “resurrect self in one round with full health” stamp on someone. Not that it ultimately matters, as I did beat him the first time, but I only had one character conscious, and with 13 HP, at that. Admittedly, I did miss a couple of QTE defenses, though.

In all, Costume Quest was an amusing game. It was very Halloween-y. Sadly, I have done all there is to do, and the game has not given me a driving need to play through it again. It wasn’t a bad $14.99 spent, but I still would have been more comfortable with $9.99.

The next post will be about Fallout (the original), and be much more bloggy. I promise.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

