jump to navigation

Demon’s Souls Part II – Here There Be Dragons October 9, 2009

Posted by emeraldsuzaku in Blog-along, Video Games.
Tags: ,
trackback

I had intended to get this written up and posted yesterday, but circumstances didn’t play nice.

I beat 1-1 Wednesday night. Phalanx was an awesome boss fight. Not because it was hard or complicated, but because of the mechanics behind it. The creation of little minions that also act as shields, in addition to be stand-alone enemies was sweet.

I also discovered an interesting workaround to the second death thing. If you die, and then die again getting back to your bloodstain, you can turn off the system before you get loaded back to the beginning of the level, and you cancel out the death. So you can load the game back up to get back to your stain. I admit, I used this a couple of times when I didn’t want to lose 5000 souls (which, to me, was a lot at that point in the game).

I stumbled upon a soldier in need, and actually managed to not kill him. Go me! I helped him clear a couple of rooms, and ended up getting some spiffy loot out of it. Luckily the couple times I hit him didn’t bother him too much. I’m starting to miss my rapier already. I also discovered that I can hop walls by using the X button. I saw a corpse with an item on it, but no path to actually get to it. So I eventually just tried hopping a wall above it, and sure enough, it let me hop over. Cool. Got a new ring for my troubles.

The depth of background really wowed me. Seeing the dragons on the cliff over that-a-way while traversing other parts of the area was a sight to behold. And they were animated! I found a message right before the bridge with tons of enemies on it that said to try it later, so I instead took the path that ended me up outside with the dragons. Yay. Damn, but they look good the closer I get to them. I took one look at the pile of smoldering bodies on top of the cliff, and decided to explore the lower path. That did appear to piss off the dragons a bit, but I kept close to the wall and their breath didn’t touch me. Got some nifty loot out of it, too.

Realizing that, while it had some cool scenery, this obviously wasn’t the way to go to progress things, I went back and confronted the bridge with tons of enemies. I had just drawn the first couple of demons towards me when I heard what sounded like a dragon circling. I didn’t think much of it—I assumed it was part of the scenery or something. Then the wing beats got closer, the dragon roared, and I heard the sound of flame blasting out of its gullet. I figured I ought to get the hell out of there, but alas, I didn’t make it in time. Luckily, neither did most of the enemies on that bridge. *cue evil laughter*

Now knowing what to expect, I retrieved my souls (I love shortcuts), patiently waited for the dragon to finish its series of breaths, and sprinted across the bridge (poorly) dodging the few remaining enemies. I had a close call at one point where I got pinned between two demons and the wall, but I managed to barrel dodge roll out of that one. Once I got to the other side I polished off the remaining demons, tempted fate by retrieving some pickups from dead bodies on the bridge, and pulled the lever to open Phalanx’ room.

The rest of the level saw me blasting my way through globs of black…pus…with my soul arrow and arriving back at the beginning of the level before the gaping maw of the Phalanx room. Cool. Then I whooped his gooey core and ported back to the Nexus. That felt epic. I love this game.

I ran around talking to the folks the plot dictated I talk to, and unlocked the ability to level up. Yay! Between the souls I had gathered, and the “usable” souls picked up from random soldiers along the way, I ended up around Soul Level 15. I suppose I ought to start thinking about using souls for weapon upgrades, but I wanted to get my stats in order first. I’m starting to really put a bunch into strength so I can use the purple flame shield I got from the cliff. That seems like a really nifty shield.

After I leveled, and stored my crap, and repaired, I decided to venture into 1-2. This level has so far been uneventful. I blasted some goos with magic, rescued the same dude I rescued in the last level, and almost got toasted by a dragon. So all in a day’s work. I do find it amusing that the dragon will strafe the bridge, but not any of the towers along it (so far, at least). Also, I hate dogs. Not in real life, but in the context of this game. They’re quick, they’re hard to hit, and they hurt. I had to slay a good half dozen of them so far.

I stopped partway through 1-2, in a tower on the wall/bridge/whatever and haven’t progressed any farther yet. This game is still awesome. It took me 3-4 hours to really beat the first level, though that does count time spent screwing around with the system (mmm….dual-wield….), and the time in the tutorial.

Comments»

1. Gil - October 9, 2009

I’m so excited to start playing this game. I ordered it from Amazon and it should get here this weekend. Everything I’ve heard about it is awesome. Just can’t wait!

2. emeraldsuzaku - October 9, 2009

It’s a fun (if difficult) game. At first it can be frustrating having to start at the beginning of a level every time you die, but if you get far enough in, you start unlocking shortcuts so that getting back to your bloodstain is much less painful. That and it’s really fun seeing the skills one develops early on being built on as the game progresses. Everything you learn in level 1-1 applies in 1-2, along with a new twist or two.

The game is also really easy to play in chunks. When you quit from the system menu in game, it saves your location in the level, so you can quit whenever you choose and start again later. Given how much time you may be spending in some of these places, that’s definitely a good thing.


Leave a Reply

